Select Page

2019 Juno Awards Recap

2019 Juno Awards Recap

The 48th Annual Juno Awards, honouring Canadian technical and artistic achievements in music, were presented in London, Ontario during the weekend of March 16 2019. The epicentre of the hoopla was held at Budweiser Gardens marking the first time the award ceremony was held in London, ON.

 The big category winners include Canadian artists like Shawn Mendes, Arkells, Avril Lavigne, The Washboard Union and Bulow. Other winners include Dizzy, Bahamas, Loud Luxury, Tory Lanez and Jesse Reyez.

 Here’s the full run-down of all the artist category winners, for technical winners check out the official Juno’s website at


JUNO Fan Choice
Avril Lavigne

Single of the YearIn My Blood

Shawn Mendes

 International Album of the Yearbeerbongs & bentleys

Post Malone

 Album of the YearShawn Mendes
Shawn Mendes

Artist of the Year
Shawn Mendes

Group of the Year

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Breakthrough Group of the Year
The Washboard Union

Songwriter of the Year
Shawn Mendes

Country Album of the Year
We Were That Song
Brett Kissel 

Adult Alternative Album of the Year

Alternative Album of the Year
Baby Teeth

Pop Album of the Year
Shawn Mendes
Shawn Mendes

Rock Album of the Year
Rally Cry

Vocal Jazz Album of the Year
Laila Biali
Laila Biali

Jazz Album of the Year: Solo
Old Soul
Robi Botos

Jazz Album of the Year: Group
The Seasons of Being
Andy Milne & Dapp Theory

Instrumental Album of the Year
China Cloud
Gordon Grdina 

Francophone Album of the Year
Une année record

 Children’s Album of the Year

You, Me and the Sea
Splash’N Boots 

Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber
The End of Flowers: Works by Clarke & Ravel
Gryphon Trio 

Classical Album of the Year: Large Ensemble
Vaughan Williams
Toronto Symphony Orchestra conducted by Peter Oundjian featuring Louis Lortie, Sarah Jeffrey, & Teng Li

 Classical Album of the Year: Vocal or Choral

Vienna: Fin de siècle
Barbara Hannigan with Reinbert De Leeuw

Classical Composition of the Year
Golden Slumbers Kiss your Eyes
Ana Sokolović

 Rap Recording of the Year

LoVE me NOw
Tory Lanez

Dance Recording of the Year
Loud Luxury 

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
Being Human In Public
Jessie Reyez

Reggae Recording of the Year
Sly & Robbie meet Dubmatix – Overdubbed

Indigenous Music Album of the Year
Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa
Jeremy Dutcher

Contemporary Roots Album of the Year
Both Ways
Donovan Woods

Traditional Roots Album of the Year
Sweet Old Religion
Pharis and Jason Romero

Blues Album of the Year
Miles To Go
Colin James

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year
Tired Of Basic

World Music Album of the Year
Rapadou Kreyol

Jack Richardson Producer of the Year
“People’s Champ”, “Relentless” RALLY CRY – Arkells
Eric Ratz

Recording Engineer of the Year
Sponsored by 3M
“Slow Burn”, “Space Cowboy” GOLDEN HOUR – Kacey Musgraves
Shawn Everett

Album Artwork of the Year
BLOOD – Rhye
Mike Milosh (Art Director, Designer, Illustrator, & Photographer) 

Video of the Year
No Depression — Bahamas
Ali Eisner

Electronic Album of the Year
Deception Bay
Milk & Bone

Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year
The Wake

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year
Michael Bublé

Comedy Album of the Year
Good Friend Bad Grammar
Dave Merheje

Canadian Music Hall of Fame
Corey Hart

Humanitarian Award
Presented by Music Canada
David Foster

Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award
Duff Roman



About The Author

Jesse Read

Jesse Read is a videographer, writer and editor for Dropout Entertainment. As a musician as well as a videographer, Jesse has travelled the country numerous times, playing alongside and listening to the stories of hundreds of artists. A few of those are documented on this site. For video's, interviews & features follow the contact us tab!

Top Stories


Featured Videos

Featured Interviews